You work in Analytics? What do you do?

Julien Kervizic
Hacking Analytics
2 min readOct 2, 2018

--

When I was working as an Analytics Manager/Data-scientist, I have often been asked what I am doing or which techniques I am using in my day to day job, dictionary.com describes analytics as

the analysis of data, typically large sets of business data, by the use of mathematics, statistics, and computer/ software.

While this definition is correct it does not truly shed light on what analytics really entails and what skills are necessary to be successful in that domain. I’ll try to shed light on my personal opinion on the matter.

Analytics is all about surfacing business’ data, this can be in the form of dashboard, presentation, reports, ad-hoc analysis or in the form of business modeling or customer targeting.

It is a broad term, with different skill set required according to which function and business area you work on. I would break the skills necessary for analytics in 6 different categories: Databases, Domain knowledge, Excel & Visualization, Statistics, Scripting and Linux.

While domain knowledge will always be needed, depending on which area of analytics some of these skills would be optional or needed to a different extant:

Business & Web Analyst: For business and web analyst, the only true barrier tends to be good Excel knowledge. As such it is…

--

--

Julien Kervizic
Hacking Analytics

Living at the interstice of business, data and technology | Head of Data at iptiQ by SwissRe | previously at Facebook, Amazon | julienkervizic@gmail.com