Get More Out of Google Colab

From using the webcam to running JavaScript to rendering HTML to…

Sebastian Theiler
Analytics Vidhya

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash | Colab Logo

I’m sure you’ve heard of Google Colab by now. If you haven’t, it’s a free cloud-compute service offered by Google that provides a high-quality code editor right in your browser.

With that out of the way, let’s get into 5 tips and tricks for you to get more out of Google Colab.

Topics:

  1. Mounting your Google Drive
  2. Uploading and Downloading Files
  3. Making tuning Hyperparameters Easy with Form Fields
  4. Running JavaScript and HTML
  5. Using the Webcam (and turning those images into NP arrays)

Mounting your Google Drive

Google Colab is a bit flaky sometimes; you can never know when you will disconnect from your runtime. So whenever you’re training a big model, my best advice is to back it up in your Google Drive.

Mounting your Drive is easy:

--

--

Sebastian Theiler
Analytics Vidhya

This account is inactive now; thank you to everyone who has read my pieces! I’m so glad I could share some knowledge about AI and data science. I might return…