H1: Deciphering the 12 Factor Applications style

Rodney Osodo
Analytics Vidhya
Published in
11 min readOct 14, 2021

--

“Innovation is the outcome of a habit, not a random act.” — Sukant Ratnakar

Background

When I interact with software developers on campus, there is something enviable about what they do. Once in a while, the thought of transitioning to computer science crosses my mind, but deep in my heart I know I wouldn’t trade a dime for Mechatronics. My experiences in this field are quite memorable. When I heard Kelsey Hightower talking about the 12-factor application paradigm, I was intrigued. I read about it and got the essence of it. The dopamine levels then relaxed. One year later, during the just-concluded JKUAT SES Tech Week, the speakers emphasized building resilient applications.

Michael at JKUAT SES Tech Week

The 12-factor paradigm is predominantly applied in software development, but could we extend an olive branch to the hardware world? The rise in IoT applications sparked my idea for writing a blog series on the 12-factor IoT paradigm for IoT applications. The recent Facebook outage had a cascading effect on the internet which gave me more reasons for doing this. Are we capable of building resilient applications that scale on their own?

The twelve-factor app is a paradigm of software app development technique that saves time and money for new engineers entering…

--

--

Rodney Osodo
Analytics Vidhya

Enthusiastic Quantum computing engineer with a clear understanding of Quantum computing and Machine learning and training in Mechatronics engineering.