Installing face-recognition Error Resolved |dlib error | cmake error

This is a short story on how to install face_recognition on Ubuntu without any errors.

Wired Wisdom
Analytics Vidhya

--

Photo by XPS on Unsplash

I was facing some difficulty in installing face-recognition module. The solution was simple. Go the original repos and see how it works. I hope this will work for you too.

I installed everything on an Ubuntu docker container. So I had to configure many more stuffs which I am not sharing. Don’t worry. This includes pretty basic things like installing python3, pip, dev packages even git too.

For installing face-recognition module for Ubuntu 18.04: (Try for other OS, I used this for 18.04 and it worked)

  1. Install cmake:

pip install cmake

After cmake is successfully installed

2. Optional: Install git if you don’t have git. Then;

git clone https://github.com/davisking/dlib.git

3. Build the main dlib library

cd dlib mkdir build; cd build; cmake ..; cmake — build .

4. Build and install python essentials

cd .. python3 setup.py install

--

--