MakeFile: Make Rules and Automate

Deepti Garg
Analytics Vidhya
Published in
8 min readFeb 21, 2021

--

More like Hacks and Tips

Makefile

I didn’t know MakeFile four months back, but as I got to know, I liked it so much that everything I do with Python, is automated now. Here are few use cases, for which I always go to the Make command:

  • If you don’t want to remember any long command with multiple arguments then create a Make command in MakeFile and you are good to go.
  • If you want to run a set of commands one after another but don’t want to copy-paste, again and again, place that code in a block in the Make command
  • If there is anything that needs to run by many systems, instead of giving a command list, just give Make command.
  • For non-developers, who don’t need to know the technicalities of execution of a product, Make command could be used as a handy execution command
  • Creating a cheat sheet to document instructions and don’t want to put blocks of executable scripts, then create Make commands and write those in the cheatsheet
  • Want to provide installation steps to few people without any mistake, use the Make command

I can literally go on, Use Cases are endless and if you still have not tried Make commands in MakeFile, then I insist “Go, Try and Create Magic

What exactly is the Make…

--

--