My Journey Into Data Science

Hazel Donaldson
2 min readNov 25, 2019

--

Growing up, I wanted to follow in the footsteps of several of my family members and go into the medical field. Becoming a doctor would fulfill two of my passions: love of helping people and science. While pursuing my Chemical and Bio-molecular Engineering degree which gave me a different perspective on how I could put my two passions together. Toward the end of my undergraduate studies, I decided not to apply for medical school and go on a different path.

Photo by Tachina Lee on Unsplash

While I was trying to figure out this path, I started to learn programming with Python. It was simple and started to really enjoy programming. When I was researching what I could do with Python programming and learned about data science. It was like a light bulb went off and I finally realized what I wanted to do. I realized how important data had become in our fast paced world. Then I started researching ways I could learn data science and found the Flatiron School.

I applied in late 2018 and was accepted to start the online part time data science boot camp for 2019. It’s a lot of hard work but I am learning so much and enjoying it. At the time of this writing, I am more than half done with the program and can’t believe how much time has already passed.

In my opinion, there are still countless unanswered questions about what works and what doesn’t work in healthcare and medicine. This is data next big challenge is healthcare. Healthcare data is messy and difficult to work with, but it can provide massive insight into how to improve people’s lives and keep them safe. In my search for more knowledge for data science and its applications, I have learned how important it is that the data tells a story. Finally it all clicked for me: data, storytelling and clinical knowledge could bridge the many gaps in today’s healthcare.

--

--

Hazel Donaldson

Aspiring data scientist looking to positively impact the world