Signal processing (time series analysis) for scientific data analysis with Python: Part 1

Running mean filter to a time series

Nita Ghosh
Analytics Vidhya

--

Image by Altuna Akalin

These days internet is flooded with resources that help to make one’s way to leaning data science or/and machine leaning. Oftentimes, you would find a junior scientist like myself immersed in loads of data and trying to make a little sense of it (which you may also call time series analysis in fancy terms). It was only when I was scouring the internet for scientific data analysis guidelines that I noticed the paucity of resources. Thus, I thought it would be fantastic if I get to share some of the techniques that I have learnt/am learning throughout my course of data/signal analysis procedure using Python as a programming language.

Below are different fields of application for time series/signal analysis that might get benefited from this read:

  1. Scientific data analysis (spectral signal analysis for spectroscopy/bioscience)
  2. Audio signal processing, digital signal processing

3. Speech signal processing,

4. Image processing

5. Financial data processing

6. Seismology etc.

--

--