That’s not scary, THAT’S scary!

Keira Oliver
Anam Cara
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2021

Spring came a few weeks ago and decided it was too cold. We’ve had sleet, hail and rain ever since. It feels like winter again. January may have only been a few short months ago but it might as well be a lifetime as so much has changed, or is in the process of changing for us as a family.

My last session with my coach had been right after the Christmas break so there was a lot to catch up with this week. One of the areas I am working on is that, as a family, we have great plans — really shaking up nearly all aspects of our life — but in many ways (and this is a constant theme in my life), I’m still talking about it all with a quiet voice.

Towards the end of the session, my coach said something that stopped me in my tracks and roar with laughter.

“Keira, you are planning on selling your house, moving to a field, home educating your children, building your own home and starting a few businesses. And you’re scared about sharing your story of that journey?! That’s not scary. It’s the DOING it that’s scary!”

And she’s totally spot on. It made me laugh because for weeks, possibly months now, we’ve talked about sharing what we’re doing more loudly with the world. To blog, make films etc. We’ve even set aside time each week to produce some content. And yet, something has stopped me pressing ‘publish’. There’s always something more urgent that needs attending to; another reason to put off deciding on what platform to use; on deciding how to start.

So this post, and the next and the next, are responding to this challenge. Sharing our story isn’t what’s scary. I am likely to attract all sorts of comments and opinions on what we’re doing but that’s not what’s scary. Actually doing what we’re doing is the scary part, but I know in my heart and gut that it’s right for us, even if I have moments of panic. As a very good friend of mine said recently, “there is fear, but there is no longer any doubt.”

And so here I am. Speaking up with a louder voice and pressing ‘publish.’

--

--