Can Superheroes Die?

Ana Krajinovic
Ana’s stories
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2021

--

An ode to my grandma, who was a superhero.

Taken by the author.

The 3 skills for incredible lives

I asked in the title if superheroes can die. The answer is no. They cannot because their legacy is so big that they never truly leave us. And the legacy of my grandma is showing everyone who knew her the three skills for leading incredible lives:

  • First superpower: Accept your life as it is.
  • Second superpower: Recognize everything good in your life and celebrate it with all your heart.
  • Third superpower: Recognize everything that is wrong and unjust in your life and fight against it with all your heart.

My grandma was a superhero. Her strength, her will to live, and her fight against injustice all came from her deep love and respect for everything that is good in this world. She had the ability to love so much.

She loved everything that is alive, everything that breaths and exists on the face of the Earth.

She could see the beauty and good even in the hardest of all moments, and she had a lot of those moments during her life.

I don’t know if I will ever be able to admire the world the same way she did, or fight evil the way she did, but every time I think I cannot, I will remember that I am my grandma’s…

--

--

Ana Krajinovic
Ana’s stories

A linguist and comic researcher, PhD, and comic creator writing about mental health, languages, creativity, and life stuff (also on anakrajinovic.substack.com)