ADHD CHRONICLES

Owning ADHD and Coping With It: In Comics

Ana Krajinovic
Ana’s stories

--

I rarely read books, but when I do, it’s because I want to write one.

Created by the author.

“Just to be clear, I have ADHD (Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder)”, I feel like I tell this to everyone I meet. Why would I share such personal information with everyone? you might ask. Well, ADHD leads to some pretty quirky behaviors, which I feel the need to justify to others. But you know what? Let’s own this ADHD quirkiness and see which behaviors should be owned and which should be treated.

Keep in mind that this advice is not an exhaustive list of things to do when you have or think you have ADHD. This is just a list of several funny and not-so-funny aspects of ADHD that I remembered to write about. I mention more of them in my previous post on ADHD:

The second thing to keep in mind is that this advice is based on my personal experience and it might not work for you. Everyone’s mental experience is unique (thanks to our evolved brains, yay) and most mental health stuff is just trial and error in an uphill battle (is that…

--

--

Ana Krajinovic
Ana’s stories

A linguist and comic researcher, PhD, and comic creator writing about mental health, languages, creativity, and life stuff (also on anakrajinovic.substack.com)