BMC & Comparative landscape (Week 5)

Anchi Hsin
Anchi Design Story
Published in
2 min readOct 23, 2018

Besides doing comparative research for this week, we kept trying to find art directors to interview. However, we only heard back from two art directors despite sending dozens of emails. The interview results also contradicted our hypotheses. As we were facing difficulties to recruit interviewees and validate our concept, we started to rethink our concept and tried to recall what we did these past few weeks. I knew that the problem that we were trying to solve is systematic and complex. More importantly, I could feel that me and my teammates weren’t passionate about the concept. The only reason that we were where we were was because the results of our past interviews led us here. As we all agreed that it was hard to push the current concept further, we went back to see our past pivot ideas and brainstormed more potential concept molecules. We came up with few directions and posted surveys to collect opinions from our potential target audience. We decided not to finalize our concept until we see more responses and do more research.

As our team sails on turbulent waters, I started to reflect on myself and my expectation of this class(CF). At first, I couldn’t figure out why I always felt CF was harder than other classes because we never actually built or created anything yet. I ask myself, why when I am in other classes, I am able to accomplish a variety of tasks (research, prototypes, user testing, mockups, video) in two weeks but struggle in CF when I have a whole semester to only do one project which doesn’t even require me to build anything for it? Why was it difficult to apply skills I had used previously to my CF class? At some point, I wonder if I forgot what I had learnt or if I were actually regressing.

Now, I gradually realize that what I have learnt in other classes can’t be completely applied to CF because they require different mindsets. In other classes, the design process is linear. But in CF, I need to constantly look back to our iterations which often make me more confused about the situation I am currently in. I guess what CF teaches me is a new way of design — think with less ego and take business perspectives into account. While other classes teach me practical skills, CF teaches me about teamwork and business methods, which I think is what most of us (me and my classmates) are currently lacking.

--

--

Anchi Hsin
Anchi Design Story

A designer who aims to inspire empathy and create social impact through interactive experience. https://www.anchihsin.work/ | anhsin@cca.edu