God’s Dismantling Of The Law And The Temple In The New Testament

Ross Thompson
Anchored In Christ
Published in
4 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Christ is the End of the Law for Righteousness

Ideogram AI by the Author

For most of my Christian life I imagined Jesus, in His dealing with the woman caught in adultery, bending and writing with His finger in the dust of a Jewish town. After forty years (lately) I noticed I had completely missed the setting of the event, which meant I had not appreciated the importance of these verses.

(John 8:1) But Jesus went to the Mount of Olives. Early in the morning He went back into the temple courts. All the people came to Him, and He sat down to teach them.…

He was in the Temple. I guess I was led astray by verse six that says But Jesus stooped down and with His finger wrote on the ground. The original language of the word ground can also be translated solid surface. Jesus was in the Court of the Gentiles, the floor of which was probably polished stone, possibly marble. The Jews did not appreciate who sat in front of them or what was going down in this scenario. The word symbolic comes to mind, but it is not the correct word to use, because Jesus, here, was Himself, personally, setting aside the Law and the workings of the Temple as the fulfillment of both.

To look at it briefly; the New Testament says all judgment has been given to the Son. Jesus is seated in Judgment on this woman, a…

--

--

Ross Thompson
Anchored In Christ

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.