I Will

“Boldly I stand, His praise I raised,
In praise of God, I stand unashamed.”

Dennis Lastimoso
Anchored In Christ
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Created on Canva by the Author

Psalm 101:1 opens with a powerful declaration from King David, “I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.” It serves as a prayer and royal proclamation, expressing his commitment to praising God with all his heart. As a leader, David makes a vow and profession of godliness.

Notice that David devotes himself to the Lord through the use of his repeated vow “I will” in Psalms 101.

Walk with perfect heart, in v2 “I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

Abstain from wickedness, v3–4: “I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me…I will not know a wicked person.

Destroy the wicked, v8 “I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the LORD.

David’s declaration reveals his dedication to praising God with themes of mercy and judgment. It emphasizes acknowledging God’s righteous judgments and authority over our lives. Today, we are called to engage in authentic worship, embracing God’s full character.

like David, we are called to embrace an “I will” mindset — a resolute determination to seek and honor God, even in the face of adversity. The steadfast commitment of “I will” empowers us to overcome temptation, face challenges with courage, and inspire others to follow the path of righteousness.

Psalm 119:30:I have chosen the way of truth: thy judgments have I laid before me.

The psalmist declares a deliberate choice to follow the path of truth, aligning their life with God’s righteous judgments. In a world that often promotes false beliefs and shifting values, we are called to fix our attention on God’s Word and allow it to guide our choices and actions.

Joshua 24:15b: “But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

Joshua’s resolute declaration reflects the power of an unwavering commitment to God. Amidst diverse influences and temptations, we, too, can stand firm and choose to serve the Lord faithfully, setting an example for our families and communities.

Philippians 4:13: “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

As we declare our “I will” to live for God, we are reminded that our strength and ability come from Christ. With Him, we can conquer challenges and fulfill our commitments to walk in His ways.

Brethren, as we ponder the “I will” of Psalms 101:1, let us fix our hearts on honoring God with unwavering determination. In the challenges of this ever-changing world, we find inspiration and strength in Christ, who empowers us to live righteously.

May we live as vessels of praise, dwelling in God’s presence, and reflecting His love and glory to the world, declaring His praise unashamed.

Always Begin With God

--

--

Dennis Lastimoso
Anchored In Christ

A Born Again Believer of Christ. Any glory here doesn't belong to me as writer, but to Christ Jesus our Lord & Saviour! Be Strengthened! Be Edified! Be Blessed!