I won’t write “a post every day for a year.”

Nathan Wahl
And Another Thing
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2016

I read this story about a guy who “wrote a post every day for a year.” And I guess it changed his life or something.

This is an abandoned idea for the last Paris Exposition of 1900 by engineer/aviator Robert Esnault-Pelterie, who was 19 when he drew this.

I want to write a post every day for a year. I really do. But I don’t want to declare I’m doing it. Once I say it out loud, once I send it into the ether, it will cease to happen. It becomes one more thing I’ll never finish. It becomes one more idea I’ve abandoned. What if I posted abandoned ideas?

See? That. Right there. That was an idea that, for a brief moment, I considered starting. But if I did, I’d never finish it. A blog of abandoned ideas. That’s not a bad idea. It’s just not a sustainable idea. I’d write, like, seven posts then forget it about it entirely. Then I’d return in 3 months and write my obligatory “sorry I haven’t been been writing here lately” post. And that would be my last post. The blog itself would become an abandoned idea. How sad and meta.

The curse of a pseudo-ambitious creative twenty-something. (This would also make a good blog title.)

The point is: I am declaring that I won’t write a post a day. But if it happens — great.

--

--

Nathan Wahl
And Another Thing

If you like my writing, and you think it’s sexy, come on, sugar, let me know.