Exporting AWS RDS Snapshot to S3

Girish V P
ADIBI Technologies, Basavanagudi, Blore.
3 min readFeb 1, 2020

All these days I have been doing mysqldump in my production servers, slowing down them. So I have every reason to try the new AWS announcement, allows me to export the RDS snapshot to S3 bucket. Yes, here I have used RDS snapshot of an AWS Aurora Database, encrypted with custom KMS key to export to S3 bucket. Procedure is simple click away process. I have included the process followed, and you can have own variations.

My Setup Pre-requisite:
1) AWS Aurora Database Encrypted with KMS
2) RDS Snapshot Created from Above Database with same KMS key.(If you create a new RDS snapshot just to test "RDS to S3 export", make sure that you have some sql records inserted before you create RDS snapshot.
3) S3 bucket in the same AWS Region of RDS Instance

Configuration Steps

  1. Select the RDS snap shot and Click “Export to Amazon S3”

2. Select the options like below. You can use your own Export Identifier name.

3. Click “Create a new role” and Enter IAM Role name.

4. Enter the Master KMS Key Name. I have used he same key which is used for encrypt the RDS snapshot. Click “Export To Amazon S3”

5. Above Screen will take you to another windows where you can monitor the status of Export. Wait till Status turns “Available”

Testing

I have the the below contents in my RDS database before I take the RDS snap shot. I have a database bank inside which is a table acctable

Now I compare the exported contents from S3. Follow path like below as seen in the screenshot below. Once you find the parquet file, select and click “Select from”

In the next screen select file format as “Parquet”. You can see contents is same as that of the my table in the RDS database.

Disclaimer: You are requested to test thoroughly before you implement in the production environment.

--

--