Hello…It’s me

Andrew Black
Andrew Black Portfolio
2 min readMar 12, 2019

I am a creative at heart, a closet nerd, world traveler, pizza junkie and an experience designer. If you’re not familiar with that last one, don’t worry, you’re not alone. If you were to ask my parents what I do for a living, they’d probably say I do something with computers. While they’re not entirely wrong, in reality, what I do is I discover and define a problem someone is having, then do my best to empathetically design a solution for them. This could be for a website, mobile app, as well as a physical product

Where my Journey Begins…

As far back as I can remember I have been transfixed with design, I was constantly doodling in my sketchbook instead of listening to my teachers, I would plaster my walls with movie posters and collages I made from newspaper clippings. I took every art and design course offered in High School, because while I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do or where it would take me, I knew that I wanted to use my talents to help people.

I started my college career at Utah Valley University studying animation and game design. From creating my own comic books as a kid, I thought this to be the perfect career choice for me, but after one year in the program I realized that I was dead wrong. I realized there was really just one facet of animation that I enjoyed and wanted to pursue. Storyboarding, I wanted to explore the story from the eye of the viewer. When I realized this, it was only a matter of time before I would stumble upon the study of UX. I instantly fell in love with the program and switched my major, I finally found an outlet to where I could explore and encourage my creative spirit while using it to help and enhance people’s experiences.

When I’m not actively trying to enhance someone else’s experience, you’ll find me working on my own, I love to travel and ingulf myself into other cultures. I like to capture little moments in with my camera, or if I have time my handy, dandy sketchbook.

Let’s Chat!

Have a problem you’d like to solve or a project in mind? Let’s talk about it. I am also always looking for feedback or critiques so don’t hesitate to reach out.

Connect with me on LinkedIn.

--

--

Andrew Black
Andrew Black Portfolio

Student. Story Teller. Experience Designer. Enhancing experiences and documenting my journey through the process.