Firebase Remote Config for App Updates Check

Check App Updates info without Rest API

Satya Pavan Kantamani
Programming Geeks

--

Introduction

Firebase is a mobile and web application development platform developed by Firebase, Inc. in 2011, then acquired by Google in 2014. As of March 2020, the Firebase platform has 19 products, which are used by more than 1.5 million apps.

Firebase has become very necessary for Android developers these days. I have previously written a post on How to Use Remote Config to Change App Appearance please check it out for a basic understanding of Firebase Remote Config. In this post, we will learn how to use Remote Config for showing app updates pop-up with using Rest API.

What are app Updates?

An app update is nothing but a new version available at the store however, the user is using an older version of the app. It’s a quite common thing to show App update pop-up’s inside the app when a new optional version or a mandatory version of apps are launched.

So to understand this better let’s take an example, where I have an app at Play Store but there was a programmatic error or a business requirement change and I don’t want any of my old users or new users to install or use the older version of my app. So What do I do? If I fix that particular thing and…

--

--

Satya Pavan Kantamani
Programming Geeks

Android Dev, Interested in Traveling, App development. Based in Hyderabad, India. Catch me at https://about.me/satyapavankumar