10 shortcuts to boost your Android development

Bonus: cheat sheet included

Wilfried Mbouenda Mbogne
AndroidPub
2 min readOct 18, 2017

--

Thanks to my designer Umberto Pepato

Disclaimer: This article is relevant if you are using Android Studio IDE with the default keymap.

Introduction

I remember the day I met a senior software developer for the first time. It was my colleague and we worked together for more than 5 years. I learn a lot from him by watching him code or review my code. The first tip he gave me was the use of shortcut.

Use shortcuts and you will optimize your way of coding

For me it was strange to use shortcut, but after a while I became a little bit addicted. Today I will present you the 10 shortcuts I use to boost my Android development and I hope it will boost yours too.

The Fantastic 4

These are the four shortcuts I use the most.

1. Go to declaration

Windows = Control + Click

Mac OS =⌘+ Click

2. Search everything

Windows = Mac OS = Shift twice

3. Quick fix

Windows = Alt + Enter

Mac OS = Option + Enter

4. Generate code

Windows = Alt + Insert

Mac OS = ⌘+ N

Editing your code

My top 4 shortcuts to edit my code.

5. Surround with

Windows = Control + Alt + T

Mac OS = ⌘+Option + T

6. Override methods

Windows = Control + O

Mac OS = ⌘+ O

7. Quick documentation lookup

Windows = Control + Q

Mac OS = Control + J

8. Auto-indent lines

Windows = Control + Alt + I

Mac OS = Control + Option + I

Refactoring your code

My top 2 shortcuts to edit my code.

9. Extract method

Windows = Control + Alt + M

Mac OS = ⌘+ Option + M

10. Rename

Windows = Mac OS = Shift + F6

Conclusion

If you’re not using shortcut, I will ask you to give a try. You will thanks yourself later for this decision. If you already use shortcuts, tell me what are the shortcuts you use the most by leaving a comment below.

I hope you found this article useful. I’d appreciate it if you give me some claps.

Don’t forget to download and print the sheet.

For more shortcuts:

B E F O R E ← Documenting My Android Adventure

N E X T → Android M V P: Survival Guide

A big thanks to everyone involved in proofreading this post!

--

--

Wilfried Mbouenda Mbogne
AndroidPub

Senior Android Engineer, public speaker. Born in Africa, living in Europe. Work hard, play hard, rest hard www.developer-journey.com #HipHopLover,#TvShow addict