Google Pixel vs. iPhone 7: Why Apple Loyalists Should Consider Making the Switch

Matt Rizzo
AndroidPub
Published in
7 min readMar 19, 2017

--

The problem

I was talking with a colleague and she asked me a simple question: When you download an app from the Google Play Store, do you have to enter your password like in the Apple App Store? I had no idea. And in that moment it hit me: I couldn’t remember ever downloading an app from the Play Store. My most memorable experiences with Android phones were helping my Mom configure “Ok, Google” and showing her how to see time stamps on text messages. Why did my Android ignorance bother me?

As a Product Manager at Warby Parker, it’s my job to build products that help Warby meet its strategic objectives. As we acquire more and more customers that use Android phones, I want to be equipped to use the latest technology to deliver an exceptional experience to our customers. If you haven’t heard, Android is the largest and fastest growing mobile operating system in the world. It’s here to stay.

In Q4 2016, Android hit a record 88% market share of all smartphones. Source.

To address my Android blind spot, I decided to buy a Google Pixel and use it as my “fun” device, loading it with gaming, social, shopping, and content apps.

The goal

I was hoping to get four things out of this endeavor.

  1. To better understand the ways in which e-commerce companies drive sales through Android phones. Most of my time at work is spent trying to sell more glasses online. I want to have a deep understanding of the e-commerce opportunities within the Android ecosystem.
  2. To make a better-informed decision about my primary phone. I have an iPhone 7, but haven’t given any serious thought to why I’ve stayed on iOS, instead of switching to Android.
  3. To stay up to date on social media. I deleted all social apps from my iPhone to minimize distractions, but have since fallen out of the loop on all the exciting places my friends are visiting (Instagram) and all the unexciting selfies they’re taking (Snapchat).
  4. To bring myself joy. I get a kick out of playing with new electronics.

The Learnings — Embarrassment and Delight

Embarrassment #1, in which I learn about USB-C

I was excited to tear open the package and start immersing myself in the Google Pixel. But, I forgot to read the eBay listing which clearly said “No charger included.” I grabbed my Kindle charger, tried to plug it into the Pixel, and realized it didn’t fit. “What is this charging port?” I wondered. A quick Google search informed me that many Android phones charge via USB-C, which was news to me. What a start! I hadn’t even turned on the Pixel and I was already stumped.

Embarrassment #2, in which I learn why there is a circle on the back of the Pixel

On day 2 with the Pixel, my girlfriend asked me what the circle on the back of the Pixel was for. I remembered a colleague mentioning a fingerprint sensor on the back of their Android phone, so I guessed that must be what the circle on the Pixel was. Suddenly, I realized how inefficient it was for me to push the power/sleep button each time I wanted to use the phone. I set up Pixel Imprint and have been amazed at how magical it feels to pick up the phone and have it be unlocked — seemingly without doing anything. I wish my iPhone 7 could do that.

Pixel Imprint allows you to quickly unlock your phone with your index finger

Embarrassment #3, in which I learned how to move apps on, off, and around the home screen

It took me a remarkably long time to find where all of my apps were hiding. Spoiler alert: Swipe up from the home screen and you’ll see them all. The iPhone user in me got frustrated and thought “Why aren’t all my apps on the home screen?”. But then I realized how awesome it was that I didn’t have to make an “Extras” folder to hold the apps I rarely use.

On my iPhone, I make a folder for apps I use infrequently

Embarrassment #4, in which I realized I was on my own to learn Android

You can’t teach an old dog new tricks. I learned that lesson quickly as I tried to complete simple tasks on the Pixel. I was hoping for some coaching, à la the Tips app for iPhone. The app gives helpful pointers about all the cool things you can do on iOS.

The Tips app educates users about iOS so they can get the most out of their iPhone

But there is no similar app installed on Android. Given that one of the markets for the Pixel is former iPhone users, I think Google should do a better job of coaching new users into getting the most from their Android phone.

Delight #1, in which Google instantly personalized my phone

By far, my favorite feature of the Google Pixel is the tight, seamless integration with Google apps and services. I entered my Gmail password once, and what followed were a series of delightful surprises.

  • When I swiped opened the Google Now panel for the first time, I saw cards featuring scores from my favorite teams.
The first time I opened Google Now, I saw the score of the Arsenal match. Magic!
  • I had forgotten about an apartment viewing, but got a helpful calendar notification at the perfect moment. This surprised me because I had not installed or logged in to Google Calendar — both required steps to get a similar notification on my iPhone.
  • After downloading the LinkedIn app, I was surprised to see that I was already logged in on first launch. Google Smart Lock used a previous Chrome login to immediately authenticate me in the LinkedIn app.

Delight #2, in which I realized I would never have to stretch my thumb to open an app

I love that I can put app icons wherever I want, like close to my natural touch targets. If you have an iPhone, you’re stuck filling out a grid from top-to-bottom. On Android, you can put those app icons wherever you’d like.

Tyranny! iOS requires you to list your apps in a uniform grid, from top to bottom.
Freedom! Android, lets you put your app icons wherever you want, like within your natural thumb reach

Delight #3, in which I downloaded a paid app for free, legally

One of the benefits of having an Android phone is that you have app store options. On iOS, there is only one sanctioned App Store. On Android, you can use the Play Store, or you can use one of the many alternative app stores.

On the Play Store, Dream Tale: Rainbow costs $0.99

The largest non-Google app store, the Amazon App Store offers promotions in which you can download paid games for free. Downloading Dream Tale: Rainbow for free felt like stealing $0.99 from the man.

Through the Amazon Underground App, I downloaded Dream Tales: Rainbow for free!

The resolution

Did I do what I set out to do? Yes!

  • Better understand e-commerce on Android. While using the Google Pixel, I learned about unique opportunities on Android — opportunities that could lead to more favorable engagement and purchase trends for an e-commerce app. One example is the automatic opt-in for push notifications on Android. By default, users are opted into push for the apps they download. Given that push notifications drive conversions, it’s reasonable to expect more of an impact from push on Android than on iOS.
  • Reassess my iPhone 7 choice. I learned that Android has some obvious advantages over iOS. For now, I’ll stick with iPhone because of app availability, the cost to switch, and the fact that most of my friends use iMessage (dat blue bubble, yo) but I’m much more open to switching to Android than I was before I started using the Pixel.
  • Become social. I got back on the ‘gram and saw that a few of my friends have been traveling. I got back on Snapchat and reconfirmed that I hate Snapchat. I started using the Facebook app again and noticed that “Marketplace” has been elevated to its own tab in the Facebook native app (not so on web). I’m selling stuff in prep for a move so I’ll give Marketplace a shot in tandem with eBay.
  • Bring myself joy. Check.

Special thanks to my wonderful girlfriend, Kristen Pettersen, who put up with me playing with not one, but two phones all weekend. <3

--

--