The Thanksgiving Note

Andy Schmiechen
Andy Schmiechen
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2016

Today in the United States, we take the time to celebrate Thanksgiving. For many of us, it’s an opportunity to reflect and look at our own posterity. It’s only fitting, that I take the time to do so as well.

The last year has seen a lot of change, mostly because of Salesforce. Hard to believe that some giant software company, who as a company, wouldn’t know me from anyone else, has had such a giant impact. I’ve been working around Salesforce software for over five years, but only got involved in the community in October 2015. Since then, it’s been a whirlwind of the most welcoming and supportive people I’ve ever met. These people are my #Ohana.

What is Ohana? Ohana is a family, related or not, and we are responsible for and to each other. We trust and support each other. We innovate together. We give back to our communities.We believe in equality. And of course, we have fun together. As an example of the Ohana culture, I’ve talked to complete strangers via Twitter, who’ve taken their own time to make me successful. Ohana is something a lot of people outside the Salesforce Community struggle to understand.

To know that others call me Ohana, warms the heart. And that, is what I’m thankful for.

While it’s a little self-promotional, I’m thankful for the opportunities in our local Salesforce community. Inspired by my Ohana, and together with close friends, I’ve worked to support our family. A monthly Salesforce Lunch, so we can keep up with each other on a social basis. A community volunteer day with the Habitat for Humanity, where we painted a house for an elderly lady. Which in turn, inspired the Wisconsin Women in Tech group to donate to the local food pantry. And the start of Salesforce Saturday in Wisconsin, so that we have an opportunity to stay technically proficient. I’m so thankful to give these opportunities back because I get so much more from them.

It took a long time for me to learn that a truly rich person is not one with disposable income, but one with disposable time.

I’m not financially rich, but I do Ok. But truly, I’m thankful for a job which affords me the time to do what I want to do. To be with family and friends, take time off to recharge, and support my involvement in the Salesforce community. That time is so important to me, and I’m thankful for it.

Finally, I am thankful for my family, the friends I’ve made, and friends I have yet to make. You all inspire me, encourage me, and only want me to succeed. Thank you, Ohana, and Happy Thanksgiving.

--

--

Andy Schmiechen
Andy Schmiechen

Senior Solution Engineer @Salesforce, @WI_SF_Saturday Co-Leader; former User Group Leader. All words are my own.