Diet & Weight Loss

Fasting versus Anorexia & Orthorexia

These are my thoughts, not scientific advice. An exploration of what it means to navigate losing weight through fasting in the context of Anorexia and Orthorexia.

Diliny M. De Alwis
Anecdotal Evidence
Published in
7 min readOct 25, 2023

--

I was listening to my cousin, Vidura, a stand-up comedian, talking about his battle with anorexia in the 90s, and it brought to mind the unsupportive effects of culture and society on people who are overweight or obese.

“… I was on the stop eating diet…”

In my article “On the Edge of Obesity,” I reminisce how, at age 17, 165 lbs, 26-28" waist, I was asked by my family doctor, “Do you want to be obese?”

Messages from the outside world:

  • Don’t do ____; it will make you fat.
  • Here’s a forward, a pictogram, a cream, a magic pill. Eat garcinia cambogia, turmeric, and black pepper daily!
  • Skip a meal now; gorge later.
  • Androgynous models make clothing look like it’s still on the hanger.
  • You are different — now add 20+ inches to the waist.

Over time, I came to control WHAT I ate. Like with drugs, I skirted anything that felt obsessive or addictive. The moment a diet felt dogmatic, I had to stop.

--

--

Diliny M. De Alwis
Anecdotal Evidence

an author, a scientist, a product leader, and coach. I write about food, family, philosophy, and life.