Finding True Self in Academia

ROSHA RAMLI
Anecdotes of Academia
3 min readAug 14, 2019
Photo by Blaz Erzetic on Unsplash

Become a researcher cum educator, transferring knowledge into written proofs is crucial for me and all this while I only wrote research articles about my findings in scientific research I did for the past 10 years. Writing other than that, I would say never, except things I wrote on my Facebook or Instagram accounts (if that can be counted as writing as well).

So, my first article in Medium, what should I write? Well, last month I just wrote an article for my university news portal (in Malay) about differences between engineering and technical education programs that my university are currently offering and going to offer.

My article on the university portal

Apparently at the moment the technical, vocational education and training (TVET) are booming in Malaysia even it has been for quite a while (since the 1990s, I guess). So, I who currently hold a position as Head of Program at a national technical institution has some thought to write about it and I would like to share with my fellow colleagues at my university. Not only that, my education background might be unique to others that I might be the one who should tell about it.

I graduated my bachelor and master degree at Polytechnic University of Japan in 2008 and 2010, respectively. Hence my university name, I graduated from engineering course that taught in TVET approaches, whereby during my study years, my classes were full with mainly laboratory sessions (2–3 days out of 5 days a week I spent my days at laboratories doing practical works and experiments! Urgh) from 9 am to 6 pm with total 182 credits for graduation.

My transcript in Japanese
My transcript in English translation

But because of that, I have acquired some unique technical skills especially in electrical and electronics as well in programming and computer networking during my 4-year bachelor degree. To recognize my skills, I have certificates from Japan Government that qualify me to be a technical instructor (unfortunately the certificates were worthless in my home country) in technical institutions through Japan.

One of my instructor certificates in Japanese and English translation

Impressive huh? Well, I didn’t feel that way at first when I graduated from that university. In fact, I felt inferior because I was graduated from a ‘polytechnic’ university that people never heard of. However, looking at the trends of technical education in Malaysia now, I feel lucky to have knowledge and experience of learning technical education in a unique way that Malaysians are going to have to be a better nation. And now my time to give back what I have learned during my years in Japan to younger generations or perhaps older people than me to improve their knowledge and skills and improve mine as well.

Perhaps that’s all for the introduction. Hope to share my thoughts again in my next articles. Please clap if you think my story is interesting. Thanks (^_^)v

--

--

ROSHA RAMLI
Anecdotes of Academia

Mom of 2, a wife, an educator at a national technical institution that loves to find inspiration, to be inspired and to get inspired ❤️