Top 5 Success Tips After Multiple Rejections.

The Top 5 Success Tips to Publish Your Research Paper After Multiple Rejections.

Izdihar Jamil
Anecdotes of Academia
3 min readJul 30, 2019

--

After 6 years of REJECTION… It’s a YES and I’m on Stage!!!

At the top conference in the world in front of the superstars in the Research world—It can’t get any better than this :)

Presenting my PhD work at the Top Conference In the World in Montreal, Canada!
Presenting my PhD Research at the Top Conference in the World in Montreal, Canada

BUT I had to go through mountains of challenges to be blessed with this sweet victory…

Here’s the thing….

It can be very frustrating and not to mention a big blow to your confidence when your research paper is rejected multiple times. This was supposed to be the highlight of my PhD but it’s crumbling into pieces…

That was what happened to me for 6 years!

“It’s not up to standards!”. “It’s not good enough!”. “Your key findings are not strong enough!”….. Sounds familiar?

At one point I wanted to give up. I mean, what’s the point right?

“If the experts say that my work is not good enough, perhaps they are right?”, I asked myself many times.

So what pulled me through? What was the shift?

Here is my Top 5 Success Secrets:

#1. I made a COMMITMENT to myself that failure is NOT an option. I CHOOSE to HONOUR myself to the highest level.

#2. I created an awesome TEAM around me to help me be successful. I worked with amazing people that helped me to make my research the best.

#3. I kept on TWEAKING my Research Paper to a point it’s a perfect fit for the Publication. I kept going no matter what- PERSISTENCY is KEY. After all the NOs, it’s an easy YES because I have them EXACTLY what they want.

#4. The POWER of INTENTION. Right from the beginning, my intention and vision for my work are for it to be accepted at the top publication. I could literally visualize myself on stage presenting. I acted as if “I already HAVE it… It is DONE!”.

#5. You have to TRUST and have FAITH in your abilities no matter what people say about you. I put my TRUST in the Creator, in my team and in the process. Trust is a MAGIC ingredient that opens up so many doors and opportunities for me.

Couldn’t have done it without my amazing team :)
Couldn’t have done it without my amazing team :)

Never give up!!!

Success isn’t just about being the prettiest, the smartest or the most connected.

Success is also about being PERSISTENT, CONSISTENT and COMMITTED to your cause.

So even after the failure and rejections, keep moving forward no matter what.

Because breakdowns/ failures/ rejections are an ACCESS to SUCCESS ❤️

“Opportunities don’t just happen. YOU create them!”

--

--

Izdihar Jamil
Anecdotes of Academia

Dr Izdihar Jamil, Ph.D. is a Business Coach and the #1 International Bestselling Author of “Yes I Can!”. She helps women to be the authority in their field