[TrippyArt] Korean Representative NFT artist, Nickle​​​

Trippy ART DAO
Pado Wallet Watch
Published in
7 min readMar 2, 2022
Nickle

Nickle

is a Trippy Art artist who is active in various fields such as LINE STICKER, game character concept art, and clothing brands.

An artist with a sense of fashion

Nickle is preparing to launch his own clothing brand, expanding his scope to NFT. He is an artist who brings a sense of fashion to his work.

Nickle
Artist, optimist, study abroad student

USM Shoe Collection(2021)

Nickle, Korea, Trippy Art

Nickle, USM Shoe Collection, Trippy Art, 2021

“Unique shoes you’ve never seen before”

A collection of shoes only available in a decentralized world

Artist Nickle’s USM Shoe Collection showcases individual shoes instead of real-world shoes.
Different from the shoes produced by large corporations, each piece has a meaning.

Artworks born from the fashion

According to artist Nickle, “I came across a lot of fashion magazines and images while launching a fashion brand called ‘off the ground’. The element that completes the image of the fashion in the fashion pictorial was the shoes. Even wearing the same clothes and different shoes is completely different. I was able to give my monster character a stronger personality through shoes.”

See more details at Trippy Art

USM Glass(2022)

Nickle, Korea, Trippy Art

Nickle, USM Glass, Trippy Art, 2022

“From shoes to glasses this time!”

A world expanded with characters

Following the shoes of <USM Shoe Collection>, this time, a character based on glasses was born.
It is not art created by generative art, but art created by hand for each character.
Not like <USM Shoe Collection>, which focuses on the shoe itself, <USM Glass> is characterized by a single character and glasses that harmonize like a set.

Artwork made by hand one by one, words from the artist

Artist Nickle says “Unlike the generative project, it was very difficult to make 52 pieces of USM GLASS one by one. It seems that I felt pressure to make more interesting and unique glasses from the time I made half of them.”.

See more details at Trippy Art

Interview

Nickle, Korea, Trippy Art

Words from a Trippy Art Artist, interview with Nickle

Q. What made you enter the NFT world?

👟 Nickle : I first became interested in articles by NFT writers who gained wealth and fame by selling digital works.

As a digital artist, I thought there was no better opportunity than this.

This is because it was a good medium not only to be able to work steadily with my favorite paintings, but also to promote digital paintings on social media at the same time.

Q. Before starting NFT, what were you doing?

👟 Nickle : After graduating from the design department at university, I was working as a freelancer and worked for game development and game illustration!

Of course, it is still in progress! Additionally, I am planning to launch a clothing brand with my older brother.

Q. If you could describe yourself in three words, what would you like to express?

👟 Nickle : Artist, optimist, study abroad student

Q. I know that you have your own team. Please introduce the reason for forming the team and the members of the team!

👟 Nickle : As I mainly only make 2D artwork, I thought I needed a breakthrough to show to buyers.
So, I thought it would be good to show higher quality and more interesting NFT works, not only in 2D but also in 3D and video, using items such as USM characters and shoes.
Team member Pipe.scottie is a sprout artist who is currently creating own hip artwork on Instagram.

He’s a close friend I’ve known from the beginning, and we talk to each other often and see each other often. Above all, I thought that this friend could create a good synergy effect because he has excellent skills in 3D and real video production.

Q. How was USM born?

👟 Nickle : I’ve been interested in monsters and creature characters for a long time, so I’ve been drawing my own monster characters.

However, I thought a lot because I couldn’t see my own unique characteristics.
It was fashion, especially shoes, that solved such concerns.

I came across a lot of fashion magazines and images while launching a fashion brand called ‘off the ground’.

The element that completes the image of the fashion in the fashion pictorial was the shoes.

Just like wearing the same clothes and different shoes creates a completely different atmosphere, I was able to give my monster character a stronger personality through shoes.

In addition, it was possible to easily complete a single-family look through the common keyword of ‘shoes’.

Q. The USM Glass project is fun to look at the characteristics of various cute monsters one by one. I am curious about the names of the monsters and the attractive points of each monster. I wonder if the names of monsters have meanings too!

👟 Nickle : Let’s introduce our 5 favorite monsters.

Chilly- A monster with a spicy concept, but with a very calming personality and attitude.

Chilly

Chirp-!(Chirpie)- This is a name with a double meaning of birdsong chirp and chirpiebang. It has a big dream of becoming a superstar singer with a beautiful singing voice. It has a very lively and optimistic personality.

Chirp-!

Fug- The name comes from the English word fugitive and mainly steals groceries. It wears a grocery bag over his face to hide his face and wears roller skates to run away faster.

Fug

Shimco — Coconut monster with comma eyes. So Shimco. This character was created with inspiration from three dots that were created by plucking real coconut roots. Shimco is a character that always makes people curious because it has a blank expression that it doesn’t know. Take a break once in a while to watch Shimko.

Shimco

Shimco is a character that is currently sold as an emoticon as well as an emoticon/sticker in the LINE chat app. You can find it by searching for SHIMCO.

Napo- A monster that combines the Pokemon Zammanbo and Potato. A monster that loves to sleep. If you watch Napo, you will fall asleep easily, right? Close your eyes to fall asleep.

Napo

Q. I wonder who Nickle’s most cherished ‘favorite’ monster is, and why? What are your favorite glasses?

👟 Nickle : My favorite monster is the USM mascot character, CHILLY.

Although it looks like chilly pepper, it has a chic personality.

CHILL means cool and calm in English.

I’m not a calm person and I’m always very nervous, so I wanted to put the personality and characteristics I wanted to have in my character.

Most of all, Chilly was inspired by Mike Wazowski, one of the main characters in the animated movie <Monsters, inc>, while I was studying abroad.

My favorite glasses at USM are Zipy wearing donut glasses. I think the mismatch with the big Zipy and the cute donut glasses that don’t fit in so much fun.

Zipy

Q. You expressed a variety of unique items from the Monster’s shoe project to the glasses project. What kind of items can we expect next?

👟 Nickle : The next project will feature 3D work with a team member.

Photo scan is a method of applying art to shoes by realizing existing shoes in 3D on a computer.

This time, rather than focusing on the USM Monster character, I focused on the keyword of shoes and trying new works.

Q. Did you have any difficulties while making USM Glass NFT?

👟 Nickle : It was very difficult to get a concept because the NFT market is changing so quickly.

Should I do what I love or do what people like? It seems that I am still in a dilemma.

Unlike the generative project, it was very difficult to make 52 pieces of USM GLASS one by one.

About halfway through, I think I felt pressure to create more interesting and unique glasses.

Q. What are the benefits for fans who hold USM Glass?

👟 Nickle : Just as USM GLASS was given out to USM Shoe Collection buyers in advance, the next project special event is in progress for USM glass buyers.

Goods and new artwork will also be distributed to holders through a lottery.

Q. The parody of ‘All of Us Are Dead’ was hot, how did you make this one?

👟 Nickle : Actual actor Yoo In-soo, who plays the role of Yoon Gwi-Nam gave a like button to my parody art.

So, I was convinced that by making USM-style zombie shoes with ‘All of Us Are Dead’ characters and zombie shoes that fit the character’s characteristics, I could promote USM Series and attract people’s attention at the same time.

Nickle TRIPPY Community:

https://trippy.place/communities/300

--

--

Trippy ART DAO
Pado Wallet Watch

Trippy ART is an NFT art DAO where you can enjoy and purchase high-quality NFT works and projects by carefully selected artists in one place.