[TrippyArt] Korean Representative NFT artist, Prod. Okjjang

Trippy ART DAO
Pado Wallet Watch
Published in
6 min readFeb 25, 2022

Prod. Okjjang

is a Trippy Art artist who creates artworks based on her own music.

She projects inspiration from music into her work, sometimes expressing herself through a combination of music and video, and sometimes through the imagery of music.​


An artist who draws music,

Prod. Okjjang is the one who made her first work after receiving an offer to enter the NFT market.

She struggles a lot because she doesn’t have much knowledge of image-making compared to music, but in the end she is an artist who creates some of Trippy Art’s most unique pieces with her own boldness.

Prod. Okjjang

Music Genius / Kingo of Music / All-round artist

Planetary universe(2021)

Prod. Okjjang, Korea, Trippy Art

Prod. Okjjang, Planetary universe, Trippy Art, 2021

“Images created out of music!​​

Prod. Okjjang’s Trippy Art debut

Planetary universe is the debut work of Trippy Art by Prod. Okjjang, who sublimated his music into videos and images.

It was divided into a video version, which consists of music and video, and an image version, which is expressed only in images, and was minted.​

Combination of bold colors and images

Prod. Okjjang’s works stand out for her intense and bold colors.

At first glance, the images appear to be separate, but they come together to create a unique harmony.

In addition to the video, the music is also melted to complete the work.

See more details at Trippy Art

A tree that eats time(2022)

Prod. Okjjang, Korea, Trippy Art

Prod. Okjjang, A tree that eats time, Trippy Art, 2022

“The tree that grows by eating time bears the fruit of the universe, the flower of dream blooms, the leaf of experience grows, and butterflies gather to fly further”

Prod. Okjjang’s second project, <A tree that eats time>

<Tree That Eats Time> is the second piece of Trippy Art by Prod. Okjjang, who depicts herself as a tree that changes over time.

It is a work that succeeds the Plantery Universe, and the main point of the work is that the story unfolds with one theme, a tree.

Words from an artist who draws music, Prod. Okjjang

According to Prod. Okjjang, “The tree symbolizes ‘I’, and I made this project to show what the tree will look like as time passes.”. And said “The moon, a window, a butterfly, and a flower symbolize who I am. It is something that expresses and symbolizes a variety of different aspects of myself, not something fixed.”​

See more details at Trippy Art

Interview

Prod. Okjjang, Korea, Trippy Art

Words from a Trippy Art Artist, interview with Prod. Okjjang

<About Artist>

Q. Before starting NFT, what was your job?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : I was working on making music.

Q. What motivated you to enter the NFT world?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : A friend who is making music together and a design writer, three of us, including myself, received a proposal to do NFT together, saying ‘NFT is the trend these days, let’s do it together’.

In the process of promoting the work, there was a case where the work was canceled due to the busyness of the design artist.

Instead of relying on others and waiting like this, I thought it would be better to do it all by myself, so I entered.

Q. If you could describe Okjjang in three words, what would you like to express?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : Music Genius, King of Music, All-round artist

Q. You said that you are expressing the music you have made with images through nft. How is it different from expressing through music and expressing with images, and I am curious about which one gives you more fun.

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : Music, like my hands and feet, allows me to create whatever I want, freely and in detail.​

As I do not know as much as expressing through music when it comes to expressing through images, but that ignorance makes me express in a different way from music with boldness.

When I make music, I work with excitement, and when I create images, I tend to have the same excitement.

However, it is the music-related works that makes me excited the most.

Okjjang, <Plantery Universe>

<About Project>

Q. How did the A tree that eats time project come about?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : Through a tree that symbolizes ‘I’ under the theme of a tree, I decided to create this project to show how the tree eats time and how time passes.

Q. Did you have any difficulties while making the A tree that eats time project?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : When I looked at the other expert seniors, teachers, and project works, their own color, character, and identity were clear.

On the other hand, I feel like I am improvising and making something chaotic.

I think it was difficult because I asked myself, ‘Isn’t this how I do it?’

Q. From the Planetary Universe project to the A tree that eats time project, you use a lot of symbols such as the moon, windows, butterflies, and flowers. What do they symbolize?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : They symbolize myself. It is to express and symbolize a variety of different aspects of myself, not something fixed.

Q. What will trees that grow on time look like in the end?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : I think it will be the same tree in the future. As a tree is a tree even after time passes.

Q. The clocks in the work all point to 10:10, and there is also 10:10 in the title, do you like 10:10 in particular?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : It’s not something I really like.

In terms of industrial psychology, due to the brand concentration effect, 10:10 is an inverted triangle composition with a symmetry of about 110 degrees,

I heard that this composition makes people unconsciously feel the most comfortable, so I put it in my work.

Q. In this project, please explain what you like the most and why.

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : I cherish all the works, but I cherish the work called ‘See’ among them. You who see the woman looking at the tree, the woman looking at the window.

I cherish works that express a bit of wit with such a framed composition than other works.

Okjjang, <See>

Q. What are the purchase points for A tree that eats time?

🎨 Prod. Okjjang : The conclusion about the difficulties and questions that I felt while preparing for this project is,

‘My work is different from others’.

I think that is probably the point of purchase for A tree that eats time.

--

--

Trippy ART DAO
Pado Wallet Watch

Trippy ART is an NFT art DAO where you can enjoy and purchase high-quality NFT works and projects by carefully selected artists in one place.