Screencapture from Wynonna Earp.

Motion Design: Taking a Scene from Wynonna Earp and Turning it Into Kinetic Type

Lauren Busser, M.S.
angles + color + type
5 min readApr 14, 2021

--

When trying to source a one-minute clip for our type in motion assignment my mind went to one place: television. I’ve been a writer and editor at Tell-Tale TV for the last five years and I have spent a lot of time looking at television shows and how scenes are constructed.

My previous beats have included Blindspot, Killing Eve, The Crown, Resident Alien, and Good Girls. I had been looking at the art of the title sequence for years, and have been dying to play with an assignment like this.

One show that I am absolutely obsessed with at the moment is Wynonna Earp, it’s a Canadian show that is currently looking for a new home. The season finale aired on Friday, April 9th and it was an emotional one for all the characters.

Finding Source Content

I tried to think of scenes that would be fun to animate and a few immediately came to mind.

  • Waverly’s Entrance: The first time viewers meet the main character’s sister she breaks down a door and almost shoots Wynonna. It’s an interesting tone shift and comes in at around 50 seconds.
  • The Couch Scene: Most of the dialogue here takes place between the ten-second mark and the 1:10 mark. It would be exactly one minute, but it would also mean cutting a portion of it for time, not sure how I would manage the fade in and fade out in Adobe Audition. Pros, only two speakers.
  • Ring in a Biscuit: Approximately 30-second clip with three speakers. It’s a little less dialogue but with more interruptions, and three speakers.

After watching each of these clips several times I settled on the couch scene as my subject matter, but since it was long, I had to load it into Adobe Audition.

I opted to cut it before Waverly says, “You know what I’ve always wanted,” and leave Nicole’s “Oh, I’m sure you do,” as the last line. I used audio selection to delete extraneous audio and then adjusted the fades so the transition was smoother.

While I was editing, I did save a longer version for myself for later expansion that has all the dialogue after this project concludes.

Adobe Audition work environment provided by the author.

Transcription and Lots of Listening

My next step was to transcribe the scene. Since I also imagined this document would have notes on effects I was thinking about using, and how the text should appear I made a Google Sheet to make sure I had it all sorted out.

Spreadsheet snippet of transcript made by author.

When I formatted the transcript I tried to hit enter every time there was some sort of pause. Listening to the audio over and over again I was able to tell when I would need a longer pause or when the character was really emphasizing a certain word.

What I hadn’t considered was the music kicking in, some of the lyrics are audible so I typed out where they were in the spreadsheet to to make sure I considered including them even with low contrast as some form of ambiance.

At this time, I also began watching a lot of the kinetic-type resources in the assignment brief to try and get a sense of the type of effects that were possible and to give me some ideas as to what and how I would want the type to look to convey the emotions between the characters.

Animatic Research

I found a few animatic videos in the past that I really liked watching, and so I sought out the artists on YouTube to see if they’d created any tutorials on how to make animatics. I ended up watching this video by Art of Rhues.

This deals with animation and illustration and it’s not exactly what I want we needed to do but it was a good starting point.

So then I decided to try looking for kinetic type animatics and I found these examples which were helpful in letting me figure out what I needed to convey in the storyboard.

Moodboard

Moodboard made by the author.

In between bouts of listening I decided to put together a mood board. Since Wynonna Earp already has a brand and has used kinetic type pretty well in TV spots, I decided to assemble some examples that I could refer to and use that to try to think of some color palettes.

I also thought thisb would be a good way to collect types of fonts that I liked as I tried to figure out how I would distinguish the two character’s identities.

Storyboarding

Storyboard created by the author.

I decided to create my storyboard in Illustrator after realizing there were probably multiple transitions and setups I would want to do with this audio. I made rough frames of the entire minute, coming in at 85 frames.

I am not really a fan of the type I chose for this version, but I think the number of iterations and frames will make for a very thorough animatic and will allow me to adjust when I get into After Effects. This is especially important since when I started laying this out I realized just how chaotic this scene actually is.

I don't regret choosing it, but I am glad that I went deep with the storyboarding, even if I didn’t commit to color in this round, again.

One thing I may consider adding is the lyrics to the song, since they are pretty clear and tend to come between dialogue. I think there is potential to be creative there, and add them in an unobtrusive way, but I am prioritizing the dialogue at the moment.

Drive link with audio, full-size storyboard JPEGS, and a link to a Google Sheet

--

--

Lauren Busser, M.S.
angles + color + type

TV. Books. Navigating burnout. Holds an M.S. from NYU in Integrated Digital Media.