Notifications? No thks!

Fernando Moreira
Angry Thoughts
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2018

It’s my fault. Of course. In my opinion, it’s very hard to define what is important and urgent; important, but not urgent; urgent, but not important; and not urgent and not important. It’s super hard.

Every day I try to have fewer meetings. They are important, but in my opinion they are also overrated. That’s why I try to make them as short and straight to the point. In one of these meetings, I noticed that in every two minutes I was checking my iPad.

But, why? Because there were nonstop notifications of apps and I simply couldn’t stop looking to see what was happening. And damn, I got upset with myself! My meeting was already short and I was more focused on the notifications.

I realized then that I fell into my own trap and I didn’t define what was important and urgent; important, but not urgent; urgent, but not important; and not urgent and not important.

Notifications and urgency

Notifications create a feeling of urgency around something that ends up not being important. In fact, I don’t need to know immediately that someone retweeted my tweet. I started noticing that, that a minimal alteration (such as a retweet) would have a huge impact on me.

“There are two types of people: One strives to control his environment, the other strives not to let his environment control him. I like to control my environment.” George Carlin

The thing that pleases me the most is that, by turning off all notifications, I am the one that decides when to check my e-mail, Twitter, LinkedIn, Quora, etc. And all that happens, happens because of me. And that may seem weird, but I love this feeling.

Receiving notifications were my fault, and by controlling this part of my environment, all becomes clearer. And now that this is on me, I can work on myself, get better and check these notifications a lot less.

I highly recommend you to try it.

Thanks for reading! For more awesome content, remember to check our Angry Blog. There you’ll find weekly blog posts about business, ideas and life in general.

If you like the things we share, please hit the 👏 button and help us spreading the word. We’ll always love you! 😘

--

--