Why I am starting to love Angular

Robin H. Abadia
Angular Medellin
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2017

Yes, I am one of those developers who marries one technology, platform or framework and doesn’t care too much about the other ones. I realized this is a bad practice and if you are in the technology world this couldn’t be very healthy. Why? Because nothing is forever, one technology can be very popular today but that doesn’t mean it will keep being like that the next year or even the next month.

So, I decided to start paying attention to the Angular framework, and I have been playing around with Angular for a couple of weeks now. Like doing little things from a big project that the company I work for is building: Checking Angular code on GitHub, watching tutorials on YouTube, reading the official documentation or creating small web applications in order to start grabbing the concepts.

One of the reasons why I started doing this is because of the happy and vivid community around Angular. When I first found it, I knew that I wanted to be part of it as well as to be proficient with this framework.

If you are reading this and you are a newbie as me on Angular, I would like to cheer you up to follow my steps and to start this never-ending trip, I assure you that you will be glad about the things that you can build with this technology.

But how this change started?

I went to an Angular Meetup, being honest, I was doubting mainly because a little voice inside of my head was saying: “Man, you are doing it ok with React and React Native… so, why do you bother going to an Angular event?”

Community:

Despite of this little voice, I entered to the meetup and Bum! I felt a very positive energy there, seriously, everyone there seemed so friendly and happy. It seemed to me that I wasn’t in a common technology meetup, I was around of people who believe in Angular, who love building things with this technology and other technologies around it and also love the present and future that this technology promises to them.

Job Opportunities:

When this event was finished, I went home and I made a research about Angular and the companies who are seeking Angular developers, then I realized that there is a big amount of companies seeking for persons who know Angular. This made me say something like: “Oh man!… and why I don’t know Angular yet?”.

Yes, It could be hard:

I knew that it wouldn’t be easy to start looking at different concepts or points of view when you are deep in love with one technology, like I was with React; but of course going through this process makes you a better developer.

So, I have been learning interesting and different concepts on Angular like two way data binding or the popular strictly typed programming language of JavaScript: TypeScript.

--

--