No words.

The Heartbreaking Situation in Israel

Gil Dibner
Angular Ventures
Published in
3 min readOct 10, 2023

--

Our venture firm, Angular Ventures, is committed to ambitious world-changing innovation in Europe and Israel. We try to keep politics out of our work and out of our official social media. No one should be particularly interested in our opinions on global affairs. The events of the past three days, however, have been so overwhelming that we can not continue with business as usual.

On Saturday, we were all witness to one of the most horrific deliberate attacks on civilians in recent memory. It took place in Southern Israel, and its scale was so massive that nearly everyone in Israel (or anyone who knows enough Israelis) knows someone who was directly affected.

As a firm, we have invested in 19 Israeli companies. Everyone is affected. On Monday, I learned that the nephew of one of our CEOs was killed in combat. Earlier that same day, I learned that the son of one of the VCs I most admire in Israel was killed in combat. At least two of our CEOs are on active duty in reserve combat units. Another founder, an American, told me that one of his relatives was severely injured (but expected to recover) and that one of his relatives is returning to Israel to rejoin his reserve unit. Several of our founders and many of their employees are serving in the reserves, risking their lives to defend their families. Every Israeli civilian and parent is spending these days aware that rockets are being fired at them and that terrorists are seeking to harm them. The scale of the human tragedy that is unfolding is nearly unimaginable, but for anyone who has seen the videos, heard the testimonies, and spoken with those affected — it is all too real. There are no words to capture this level of pain.

Our hearts go out to our Israeli friends and families.

I am not a political analyst, but there is every reason to expect that the war that broke out over the weekend will last for some time and will lead to more suffering on both sides. I pray it will be shorter than I fear it is likely to be. I pray it will be less costly than I know it is likely to be. Things will get darker for a while.

Despite the scale of the pain and the depth of the tragedy, Israel (and Israeli tech) will recover from this. The incredible success of Israeli high-tech is not a random event. It is rooted deep in a culture of innovation, adaptability, teamwork, and resilience against impossible odds. These qualities will lead Israel through the very dark days to come and — ultimately — out the other side.

As an American, Israeli, and now honorary European VC, I have the unique privilege of working across cultures. I want to share a note from a German CEO I worked with some years ago. He emailed me today:

“I just want to take a moment to express my deepest sympathy in this horrific moment for your country. Seeing the atrocities done to your people leaves me shocked and speechless. They remind me of what nine decades ago, my country did to your people, bringing tears to my eyes. …just know that you, your people and your country have my everlasting sympathy, admiration and support. I deeply hope that your loved ones are safe and that Israel will be able to stop this horror very soon.”

Amen.

Between Hebrew speakers, when one discusses a tragedy or a great sadness, it is common to use the expression: “sheloh tedah.” It translates roughly to: “may you not know (such sadness).” That is my wish for everyone reading this, whether you are in Israel or anywhere else. May we never again know such sadness and pain as we know today.

Gil

--

--

Gil Dibner
Angular Ventures

A global venture investor. Fascinated by the finance of innovation. Trying to help the few to do the impossible. Investing across Europe + Israel.