From Serbia to NYC: Emotional rollercoaster

Anica Petrovic
Anica’s stories from around the world
3 min readSep 23, 2020

“Freedom is what we do with what is done to us.”
Jean-Paul Sartre

It has been more than a month since I moved to New York City! Time quickly wipes out the previous happenings, especially when each day is overwhelming with new experiences and situations that would otherwise happen within a much longer time distance. Not to vanish into oblivion, I’ll try to name the biggest impressions and emotions since my arrival.

The story begins back in April when I found out that I’ve been granted a Fulbright Scholarship and that my dream of living and studying in New York will become a reality from August! “Khm, khm, don’t be so sure young lady.” -Covid19 whispered to my ear the very next moment. Until the beginning of August, it was uncertain whether it will be possible for me to travel to the US, or I’ll start my master’s program online. Although I’m in love with the state of freedom the freelance work provides me, life is much more than what can happen within these amazing virtual spaces. The fact that my boyfriend has left his job and decided to move to the US with me has brought even more tension while waiting for the decision whether we will be allowed to fly.

The emotional rollercoaster went something like this:

  • an explosion of emotions upon realizing that we are traveling to the US in seven days
  • disappointment at the airport because he can’t get on the plane with me
  • cultural shock by the new environment and extreme restrictions in NYC (much stricter than in Serbia)
  • excitement as the master’s program started but also jitters whether I’ll be able to entirely express my self in the English language in an academic environment
  • anxiety if he is going to make it to the US, or the plans about our American dream will fall apart
  • onboarding of two new clients since I came to the US and more responsibilities than ever in @digital_communications_lab
  • He is finally arriving, we are falling in love with New York, and each other again :)

There’s a tornado of things coming with the school and business, but why not go on a 3-week long trip before we move to the new apartment? As I’m writing these last sentences, the suitcase is opened and waiting to be packed for our flight to Miami tomorrow.

In a time when it seems that Universum is saying “YES” to all wishes, I need the wisdom to feel what I really want so I can thrive and prevent burning out.

Luckily, every now and then, I get a signal about how the essential thing is your attitude in the given life circumstances.

Until the next time, stay safe, but don’t forget to stay chill as well.

--

--