Meet Tristan Prior

Darren Paul
Animatic
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2019

AKA, TinRats

A frame from “Spiderman VS Venom” by TinRats

Tristan is an incredible animator out of England. We were fortunate to have a Q&A together.

Whats your name?

Tristan Prior

Where are you from?

Hampshire, England.

Where are you living now?

Same place, I’m very boring! :)

What kind of work do you do?

I started my career working on visual effects for TV and commercials but my current areas of work are in the pharmaceutical and security sectors, although I do get the odd random character based projects which are always my favourite.

Do you have a portfolio online?

I have projects and personal experiments on my Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/tinrats_) and my website(www.tinrats.com).

What do you use Animatic for?

Animatic is a fantastic tool for laying down quick animation ideas. A typical scenario would be blocking in a first character animation pass and then using that as reference for my 3D work. At home, I enjoy creating random little animation ideas which I post on Instagram.

Where do you use Animatic the most?

I always use it in the early stages of character animation projects whether that’s at work or home, it depends on the type of work I have at the time.

Whats your favourite thing about Animatic?

It’s the type of app you can just launch and use with ease, there’s nothing complicated about it. I also love the recently added scrubbing feature! That’s a real time saver.

What kind of device/ technology do you use to make animations with Animatic?

I use the iPad Pro 12” and Apple Pencil (first generation).

What do you wish Animatic offered that it doesn’t currently?

I would love to have a specific pen that could be used for notes and animation arcs that could be rubbed out separately from your line art. Currently, I have to draw them on a single frame (using onion skinning) and shift it forward as I progress.

Follow Tinrats here.

To animate on your phone and tablet, download Animatic.

--

--