Pokémon: The Distant Blue Sky Reminds Us Everything We Have Will Someday Be Gone

On Cherishing the Little Things

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Pokémon: The Distant Blue Sky Promotional (Studio OLM)

INTRODUCTION

I was in 4th grade when Pokémon was released in my home country.

Back then, all my classmates were Pokéfans and every night at 7:30, we tuned in to Cartoon Network to watch the latest episode. None of us dared to miss it because if we did, we wouldn’t understand the Pokémon-related conversations at school.

My whole life revolved around this series from when I was 8 until 11 years old.

I vividly remember how excited I was to see Ash, Misty, and Brock on their Indigo League journey. Then as the series progressed, I was delighted with the addition of Tracey in the Johto League and Max & Mae in the Hoenn Region.

I knew every Pokémon, played endlessly with my brother on our GameBoy console, memorized every song from Pikachu’s Jukebox, and had my favorite songs from the 2.B.A. Master album on repeat.

Pokémon was my childhood.

Last December, it was announced that Ash would leave the franchise after 25 years as its main protagonist, and the franchise would then have new main characters.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.