Thoughts on Banana Fish

On Reminiscing What’s Gone

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Banana Fish Anime Poster (MAPPA Studio)

This article contains spoilers.

INTRODUCTION

In this post, I will share my thoughts on the Summer 2018 Anime, Banana Fish.

I also included my insights on the manga-sequel Garden of Light because it’s where the story ended.

While Garden of Light didn’t get an anime adaptation, I felt compelled to read it to know what happened in the end. If you’re like most viewers, Banana Fish’s final episode may have also left you confused.

Since the anime was left open-ended, I wanted to witness how the author ended the story.

PLOT

Ash Lynx, a runaway in the streets of New York City, was eventually adopted and raised by the mafia lord, Dino Golzine.

Currently 17 years old, he investigates the meaning behind the words “Banana Fish” as those were the only words his older brother Griffin uttered since his return from the Iraq War.

Eventually, he is introduced to Shunichi Ibe and his assistant Eiji Okumura who are Japanese photographers who report on American street gangs…

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.