Thoughts On Bubble

On Living Without Inhibitions

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Bubble Anime Movie Promotional (Wit Studio)

This article contains spoilers.

The Little Mermaid gazed at the prince and threw herself into the sea.

INTRODUCTION

Last Sunday, I discovered Bubble on Netflix’s Original Anime catalog and was immediately drawn to it. It was a rainy afternoon then, and I thought this movie complemented the misty feeling of that day, so I watched it.

I’m glad I did.

Bubble’s art style, storyline, and feels are reminiscent of Makoto Shinkai’s acclaimed 2019 Film, Weathering With You as both had apocalyptic themes where Tokyo is engulfed in water.

While Bubble’s elements are no longer new, I laud its cast for creating something marvelous out of the old.

Despite some issues with its plot and character development, I still think this film is exceptional.

The Little Mermaid was happy just being there. Those days felt more important than anything. Even her own life.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.