Thoughts On Horimiya

On Our Self-Reservations

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Horimiya Anime Poster (Studio Cloverworks)

INTRO

I can’t think of one high school rom-com anime I actually liked. Not that I find them bad, just that they tend to be dry and repetitive. Sometimes, they’re also lacking in character development or actual conflict. I’m also way beyond my high school years so I don’t relate to high school characters anymore. I crave anime that tackle complex philosophical issues. Plus, I want the animation to be beautiful as well.

Horimiya is a Winter 2021 anime that aired from January to March 2021. During its release, it just pops out everywhere, and fans really seem to like it. At first glance, it doesn’t appear to be different as “cool girl falling for unpopular guy” is so formulaic and overused.

But, you know what they say, sometimes it’s good to go with the flow, and I’m glad I did for this one. I can’t say that the themes tackled are deep and philosophical, but what hooked me was how each character was drawn. They were plain beautiful. Also, what stands out was how the emotions in their voices were projected. The voice actors did really well to make each character come to life. I finished it, and I enjoyed it. Here are my thoughts.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.