Thoughts On My Dress-Up Darling

On Our Internal Struggles

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

My Dress-up Darling Anime Promotional (Studio CloverWorks)

INTRODUCTION

Except for Demon Slayer Season 2 and Attack On Titan: The Final Season Part 2, I didn’t like the anime released in Winter 2022. I don’t mean to say the new releases were not good. They were just not my type.

I only knew My Dress-up Darling recently, and I’m happy to have come across it. Because I discovered it later than its pilot release, I got to binge it.

Knowing myself, this kind of show also isn’t to my liking. But I found Marin and Gojo’s characters comforting, and I enjoyed this light-hearted series.

Despite the fan service, there’s depth to the story. Both Marin and Gojo were authentic and relatable.

PLOT

Since childhood, Wakana Gojo was mesmerized by Hina dolls. Because of this, he aspires to become a Hina Doll maker when he grows up. He also hopes to reach his grandfather’s level of expertise one day.

While his classmates were into pop culture, Gojo found solace in doll crafting and making dresses for them. However, he kept this hobby a secret as he was ridiculed for it…

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.