Thoughts On Only Yesterday

On Evaluating Our Life and Choices

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

My colleague before asked me, “What would your childhood self feel about you now? Do you think he’s happy with the person you’ve become?”

That moment was a Friday night. We were finalizing our work as we joyously anticipated the weekend.

The question never really bothered me then. I knew I was content with what I had. It wasn’t until recently that I pondered on that question.

What would my childhood self say to the person I am now?

PLOT

Only Yesterday follows Taeko Okajima as her life is shown in different timelines. In the present day in 1982, she is a 27-year-old woman working an office job in Tokyo. She files a ten-day leave to go on a vacation to the countryside.

In 1966, she is a fifth-grader who deals with the regular struggles of a kid.

Even if the 1982 setting is the primary storyline, Taeko’s childhood memories surface in her present self to remind her of the things that happened in the past.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.