Thoughts On Parasyte: The Maxim

On the Dichotomy of Human Beliefs

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Parasyte: The Maxim (Studio Madhouse)

Warning: This article contains spoilers

INTRODUCTION

Few anime get cemented to a classic or “must-watch” status. It’s estimated that there are over 6,000 shows produced in the anime industry, with more than 3,200 aired on television. With that number, it can be hard to stand out.

However, the industry continues to produce more than a hundred films and series per year. But amidst the saturation, some are notable enough to stand apart. These anime usually have complex plots and impeccable storylines — stories that linger on you long after you finish them. They make you think and they challenge your perspectives.

As a newbie anime fan, I did what most beginner watchers would. I googled “Anime for Beginners” or “Best Anime of All Time.” I saw titles unanimous in every recommendation, Death Note, Psycho-Pass, Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood, and Gintama. However, these shows didn’t click with me, and I dropped them eventually.

Luckily, there was one show on the lower rank of these lists that struck a chord with me, Parasyte: The Maxim.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.