Thoughts On Your Lie In April

On Being Your Own Person

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

--

Your Lie In April Promotional Poster (A-1 Pictures)

This article contains spoilers.

INTRODUCTION

When I was in college, I had friends who’re all over Your Lie in April. One friend even said it changed his life. I wasn’t into anime yet at that time, so I simply heard them out.

Earlier this year, I saw my mom watching its live adaptation on Netflix. The title sounded familiar. I then remembered how much my friends loved it. I watched it with my mom and thought it was cute. It just felt weird because of the way the actors spoke. Their enunciation sounded like anime characters.

After finishing it, I felt joy and sadness at the same time. A few weeks later, I watched the anime version and thought it was much better.

Like the live-action, I had poignant yet hopeful feelings afterwards.

PLOT

After his mother passed away, Kousei Arima is unable to hear the sound of his own piano. Two years later, Kousei still avoids playing, leaving behind his admirers and rivals. He lives a monotonous life with his friends Tsubaki Sawabe and Ryouta Watari.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Anime Thoughts

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.