GHC19 Senior Leadership Summit Takeaways

Alicia aka AM Morgan
AnitaBees
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2019

#GHC19 #GHC19SLS

This year I have had the pleasure of expanding my knowledge and influence as a technology advocate. In May, I was honored by The Dallas Business Journal at the Women in Technology awards with the distinction of advocate for my work as Vice President of Education and Programs at the Frontiers of Flight Museum in Dallas. It is very rewarding reaching over 42,000 students annually through the Museum’s STEM Education Programs.

As a leader, it is important to be a lifelong learner aligning your leadership with the current needs of your team and the communities you serve.

I set the intention of wanting to focus on technology to insure that the programs that I support are hands on, interactive and innovative. I decided I wanted to attend the Grace Hopper Celebration for the first time. I applied for the GHC 19 Women of Color in Tech Complimentary Registration. The acceptance allowed me to also attend the Senior Leader Summit for the Organizational Development track.

Attending inspiring keynotes and sessions, networking with peers, and gaining important resources to succeed as a leader are definitely a part of my tool kit from GHC 19.

Below are the list of the key insights I learned from the Senior Leadership Summit.

The Numbers Don’t Lie

It is very important that within your organization that you know what the strategic goals are and the progress indicators that are being used to hold departments accountable. The goals can be defined yearly however it is important to track metrics to target monthly to ensure things are on track. Numbers should be accurate and have detailed information to back up performance claims.

Scaling Is Important

Scaling an organization requires assessing if your current work structure can handle a growing amount of work, sales or demand in a capable and cost-effective manner.

Questions to consider while planning for scaling an organization are:

  1. What must operations do particularly well?

2. How do we invest to develop assets to support capabilities?

3. How do we configure our processes to support these capabilities?

4. What human capital is missing to scale to the next level?

5. What additional financial resources are needed?

6. How will we stay on track?

What Does Thought Leadership Mean?

The Importance of Social Capital

Earlier in my career I focused more on my human capital leading to financial success. Now, I understand the power of always building relationships of value that in the long term can lead to more fulfilling opportunities.

Here’s a recent video of my experience of the power of social capital. https://youtu.be/nwUs5xMnzbw

Thankful for #GHC19 I now have tools for #scaling an organization and insightful information to put into practice for #thoughtleadership #GHC19SLS

--

--