“Kyon’s Choice” — A Fan Dub of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

Lia
AniTAY-Official
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2020

As many of you know, December 18 is a somber day for me. I have said this story every year since joining AniTAY, but my first experience with a loss of life through suicide death was one of my very first online friends. He was a huge fan of Haruhi Suzumiya and, admittedly, a reason I avoided anime for so many years. I did not want to face those memories.

As I began this tradition of re-watching The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya on 18 December every year, the meaning the film had for me shifted over time. I used to connect to Kyon and his conflict, but, over time, I realized I related to the stoic Nagato and her gradual disintegration from the stress coming from being relied on so heavily. Regardless, after writing about this for four years straight, I know I have ran out of things to say about the anime. So, instead, I decided to express what this anime means to me in the only other way I know how to- through the expression of voice acting.

I do not have delusions- I know I am not a talented voice actor or even cut out for regular amateur work. That was never the goal with this project. I wanted to give my best effort in memorial of someone, and many more, and just conquer a fear I’ve had for years. Sure, I’ve done little “shitposts” and silly voice acting projects, but I always hid behind the façade that these were not me being serious. In other words, this project gave me a chance to put some demons to bed, and I am glad I got to do it. Hope you enjoy it, and happy holidays.

--

--

Lia
AniTAY-Official

Horse Girl Connoisseur, Might Actually Be a Horse Girl