The Vulnerable Hero: Goblin Slayer Addresses Uncomfortable Issues

Lia
AniTAY-Official
Published in
8 min readSep 29, 2023

When I heard the title “Goblin Slayer,” I will admit my skepticism landed entirely where popular culture steered it to- I always thought of it as an “edgy” anime that had a shocking pilot episode that pushed the envelope of the sake of buzz without reason. Unfortunately, that sort of thing just happens in anime what feels like annually. It would be challenging to find a fan who was not aware of the first episode that portrays a party of adventurers being wiped by a cave full of goblins. More so, everyone and their sisters know about the scene where one of these adventures is sexually assaulted by the goblins in very graphic detail. As a survivor of sexual assault, someone who has lived through the damage trauma does to self and loved ones, and someone who works with survivors, I stayed away from even looking at material related to this anime out of principle. What I wouldn’t have expected, however, was that this anime takes a shocking, difficult element and fully explored the impacts it has on people. Indeed, the very same reasons I avoided this anime ended up being why its hero and commentary resonated with me so strongly to the point that I have ruminated on it for several weeks now. With a sequel right around the corner, I wanted to take some time to try my best to unpack my thoughts. I apologize if there is quite a bit of projection here, however, this left a special impact on me in a way that I will never be able to divorce from. After talking with the community, I decided to just let this loose. I appreciate your support reading my content regardless.

Arguably the most overlooked/underappreciated part of this show that suffers from assumptions made following the shocking pilot comes from the depth to the titular Goblin Slayer. When we are introduced to the character of Goblin Slayer (I will use italics for the title of the anime to differentiate the character from the title from here on), we see a stoic armored adventurer who appears to be fixated on one thing and one thing only: killing goblins. It actually is not until roughly the halfway point of the first season that we begin to see the seeds of growth really sprout. We come to discover that Goblin Slayer had lost his sister and village to a goblin attack and that the horrific event left him scarred emotionally and set the anger we have seen to this point into motion. As AniTAY Podcast host Requiem put it best when I was discussing the show during my first viewing, Goblin Slayer has “That real rage, that seething, deep in the blood (stuff). He never yells or flips out but you can feel the hatred.”

It’s this quiet rage that contrasts what we come to discover to be an unexpectedly vulnerable person underneath the armor. Despite short responses, Goblin Slayer speaks to others with a sort of respect that someone who has endured the worst of life can provide. One great example of this sort of empathic listening and communication comes when the Sword Maiden shares that she was assaulted by goblins and how this experience traumatizes her in her sleep. While not saying much, Goblin Slayer says enough to indicate not only that she is heard, but that the survivor’s feelings are validated. When I re-watched this scene, there was a powerful exchange that spoke to the focus this anime had on trauma, survivors, and hope. The Sword Maiden asks Goblin Slayer “Will you be there when I dream of them again?” referring to her nightmares of her experience. “Yeah. Because I’m the Goblin Slayer.” It is a super simple line and could appear to be a whatever line, but by this point it should be clearer the meaning there is for him to do what he obsesses over. Goblin Slayer speaks of being there for people whose experiences are overlooked and threats that go underestimated. In this regard, he isn’t talking about being there in a literal sense; when he says he will be there, he is representing the hope and strength the Sword Maiden can rally behind to maintain that hope in face of her trauma.

Even if this might sound like a stretch to some, we see Goblin Slayer’s motivations outright spoken by the adventurer. During what initially appeared to be a simple light hearted episode before the anime’s third act, Priestess and Goblin Slayer sit by a pier with ice cream. Suddenly, Goblin Slayer claims:

“When I was young, I thought if I took a step, the ground would open up beneath me, and I would die. There was a time when I hesitated to even walk because of that. It’s not impossible, but no one worries about that. That was really strange to me…it took me time to realize that I still have to walk, no matter how scared I am…Even now, I’m scared to death.”

I think what makes this already profound, disarming quote is that it re-contextualizes the entirety of Goblin Slayer to this point, understanding the truth behind the helmet of Goblin Slayer. It turns what first looked like “big strong dude mowing down bad guys” scenes and flips them on their head. Goblin Slayer saying things like “Remember what is in my pocket” shifts from being an odd mantra inspired by The Hobbit and turns it into a statement that the hero uses to ground himself from fear. Arguably the most changed scene from earlier in the anime was when Goblin Slayer’s party fell apart from a goblin ambush. Priestess and High Elf Archer scream as Lizard Priest and Dwarf Shaman struggle and Goblin Slayer laid concussed on the ground. Goblin Slayer murmurs, begging for strength. Quick frames of his traumatic past flash before him, and the point of view switches to a perspective of blurred vision beneath the helmet. After taking his last potion, Goblin Slayer manages to muster strength to win. This feels much heavier hitting as it becomes clear in retrospect that he must have been experiencing that same fear of loss that he alludes to later. Such powerful context pays dividends later, and cements Goblin Slayer as an outstanding, vulnerable hero.

If I can make a quick detour, I wanted to share that I found myself quickly adopting the statement “Remember what is in my pocket” into my own personal mantras to ground myself in face of stressful situations in my career (another I use from an anime is the “It is raining” and “It is no longer raining” that Arata Shindo used as a grounding technique in Psycho-Pass 3). It might sound dramatic, but I often have to make time sensitive decisions and I can find myself stunned in moments.

At this point, it should be apparent that “goblins” are an allegory for issues, experiences, and/or struggles that are overlooked in the world. These are usually ignored because they do not directly affect a majority of individuals, or because they are uncomfortable to talk about for the same. They are considered “small,” inconsequential, or not worth the time/effort. We see young adventurers with promising futures robbed of their innocence and opportunities due to bystanders not intervening and because there were no societal protections to mitigate risk. Goblin Slayer’s party only comes to request help because their respective peoples’ positions of power/influence did not wish to allocate resources to address concerns regarding goblins.

I am a career social worker who works in arguably some of the bleakest environments imaginable hidden in everyday life. I find the subtext Goblin Slayer explores in overlooked issues and experiences of people awes me. It is dark, it is uncomfortable, and it can feel overwhelming at times to consider the dark components of our world that go unaddressed. I see generational effects of this; I see how communities, families, and individuals all suffer in a silence as neglected as the issues that create this pain itself. People muster courage and share struggles but, sadly, the issues are daunting to the point that social supports and even agencies that offer support struggle to help. This is something I can relate with, as there is a deep depression that occasionally washes over me, realizing that it is difficult to share these struggles as my social supports are unsure of what to say in face of the hardship.

It sounds all doom and gloom, however, I think that Goblin Slayer does something that speaks to the maturity of its writing. It doesn’t just unearth the grime in some nihilistic message, it addresses what it takes to make a change. This is found in two moving examples. The first can be covered with the development of the deuteragonist, Priestess. She faces the horrors of the goblins and emerges from her experiences with hope for change. Due in no small part to encountering Goblin Slayer, Priestess expresses that there is good in people and that change comes from faith in this. It is simple and idealistic, but it is an important belief that warrants fostering growth. This faith leads Goblin Slayer to believe it is okay for him to trust addressing the issues of goblins to others than himself and to allow himself to live and move forward. He expresses desire to move forward and adventure in a way he had not considered prior to this sentiment reaching him. The other example that I find expands on this message expressed by Priestess is the final conflict of the first season. Goblin Slayer discovers that hundreds of goblins threaten the small farm town that he loves and cherishes. With all of his heart and effort, he begs the Adventurer’s Guild to help him protect this town from goblins. Naturally, most of the people in the building scoff off this task and remain unmoved. What plays out, however, is that those the hero has motivated end up stepping up to pitch in towards bringing up the rally. An individual who carefully spends time treating others with respect and carrying an iron will forged in conviction and complicated affliction reaches others to take upon themselves to rally for change. It becomes more than protecting a small farm town; it becomes a message that those who have the means to protect ought to do just that. It is a challenging proposition, but it is one that doesn’t start without respect, courage, and belief in addressing complicated issues that might not appear approachable otherwise.

Ultimately, I find that there is far deeper commentary to Goblin Slayer that warrants praise than what appears on the surface. More than a shocking, uncomfortable portrayal of issues, there are inspiring messages for hope in people and for change to be found. Maybe it can be easier to avoid challenging issues that desperately need support, but it doesn’t take much to be an ally for change. Every effort to support and promote change helps mitigate risk, inspire survivors, and empower entire communities. As challenging as it can be not to just turn away from “goblins,” embracing the support of others and paying respects forward help create everyday Goblin Slayers.

You’re reading AniTAY, a reader-run blog whose writers love everything anime related. To join in on the fun, check out our website, visit our official subreddit, follow us on Twitter, or give us a like on our Facebook page.

--

--