UEFA FFP

Ben Whitehouse
1 min readSep 6, 2012

--

UEFA FFP

Image

So, Financial Fair Play rules, let’s discuss:

Gabriele Marcotti has just done a lovely little snippet review of FFP as he has been dossing with the UEFA senior delegates recently. Please see:

I have to say, he has some sensible answers, but to me he sounds a bit like a UEFA delegate himself, and this is never encouraging, but it is hard to keep neutral when talking about organisations like UEFA. It’s a tough read I’ll be honest, like most government legislation documentation it is long winded and very detailed and uses quite specific language; I’m gonna keep reading it tomorrow and perhaps review it a little bit better.

Long and the short is, I think Marcotti is worried about the same things as me, and said as much (but didn’t say as much). Clubs wanted this agreement, but other clubs will be pushing the boundaries as hard as they can. I can’t see anyone getting banned from European competition because of FFP, I can only see UEFA making some serious amounts of cash.

Till next time.

--

--

Ben Whitehouse

I love football, and I love cricket. I write about football here and cricket here - https://medium.com/@friendlycricketcollective.