Vientiane, The Capital of Laos

Ankur Jalota
AnkurWat
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2013

Vientiane has many beautiful temples, and I’d like to share a few of them with you.

In the picture below, I found the juxtaposition below interesting — the old and the modern, both coexisting.

IMG_3246

In one general area we saw the Sacred Stupa, and many other beautiful wats and statues.

The Sacred Stupa below is the biggest I’ve seen so far — the reason being is that it may have the collarbone of Buddha.

IMG_3197

A pagoda on the same premises.

IMG_3199

A few photos of me in meditation pose in the temple.

IMG_3211
IMG_3213

A simple statue. Honoring the Buddha within.

IMG_3219

The Sacred Stupa can be seen from temple.

IMG_3232

I walk around into another temple area, discovering more beauty.

A giant thirty-foot buddha statue.

IMG_3241

Nagas (seven-headed serpent). This is beginning to feel a bit Hindu.

IMG_3240
IMG_3238

Multiple arms? Feeling more Hindu.

IMG_3236
IMG_3235

Garuda! A mythical bird in both Hinduism and Buddhism.

IMG_3234

It was interesting to see a blend of Buddhism and Hinduism in the above statues. It was familiar yet new for me.

This is the last major city we visit in Laos. After this Dev and I head to Four Thousand Islands.

Here we spend a lot of time in our simple bungalows, on a small sleepy island, relaxing. I enjoyed doing yoga and meditation on the porch in the mornings, in front of the Mekong river.

IMG_3306
IMG_3307

The steady flow of the Mekong River.

IMG_3308

One morning I wake up to find Dev sleeping in the hammock, covered with a mosquito net. My first thought was, “wish I thought of that!”

IMG_3320

I enjoyed being disconnected for a bit (no WiFi in our bungalows). I had time to reflect, write, and slow down for a bit. It can be mentally taxing to always have to be planning where to go next, planning the logistics, adapting to a new environment.

Next destination: Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

--

--

Ankur Jalota
AnkurWat

UX Designer | Yogi | Ancient Ruins Junkie | Optimist