Why I chose to publish on Medium

Anna Cantrell
anna cantrell
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2017

This semester is my last semester of college as a graphic design major (insert cheers here) and as part of my final studio we were tasked to create a blog for our process. In only 3 short months I will be graduated and entering the workforce, so that’s really exciting!

There are a lot of options for creating blogs out there so it was difficult to actually choose one. I researched and played with several platforms before I came to a final decision. I ended up landing on Medium for a few reasons.

1. I trust Medium
Over the past year as I’ve been learning more about interaction design and technology I’ve found some of the most engaging and well written articles published here on Medium. This venue already has a large community of well educated and respected people in the field that I’m trying to break into. Which brings me to…

2. Medium is home to my community
I know I’m a graphic design major, but what I’m really interested in is web technology. I love web development, interaction, and user experience design. My weekends are spent going over material design guidelines and codecademy courses. It’s what I absolutely love and what I want to spend my life pursuing. Medium is home to a huge community of tech bloggers, teachers, and enthusiasts, and I want to be a part of that!

3. Medium is easy
As a designer, If I chose a blogging platform with too much customization I would spend hours pouring over the most perfect way to display my content. I would spend so much time in fact, I would probably never actually write articles, or get any other work done. Medium’s simplicity of user interface and experience makes an extremely efficient workflow. I can focus on just the content of my writing, and save my design and development work time on my projects.

Over the course of the next few months I’ll be posting articles about my projects which will include updates and process documentation. I’ll also be writing articles explaining some of the tech concepts I’ve been learning, which hopefully will help others learn as well.

Thanks for reading!

--

--