What AWS Lambda Users Should Know About Azure Functions, and Vice Versa

Anna Coding
Anna Coding
Published in
2 min readJan 8, 2020

In my previous post, I explained about my painful multi-cloud experience and lessons that I learned. Regardless of which cloud platform you are using, I recommend you to read it to avoid our mistakes. I’ve encountered a surprising high number of Cloud developers who have never tried other providers. That’s why in this post, I would like tell about the differences between AWS (Lambda) and Azure (Functions). Aim of this post is NOT to tell which one is better. They are both good with their own pros and cons, indeed I would like to clarify this with some facts. Hopefully this post can encourage users of each FaaS to give the other one a try.

I’ve tried to be fair on my points by providing facts for my claims, and they are valid at the time of writing this post. However, if you disagree with me on any point, I’m more than happy to hear your comments.

Similar to AWS, Azure has a rich set of offerings for serverless consumers: functions, orchestrators, powerful tooling for local development. But Azure (functions) are implemented and used in a different way compared to AWS (Lambdas); therefore, developers with AWS background can have difficulties if they try to use functions in Lambda way. Here are some differences (1):

Check the whole article from the following link

--

--

Anna Coding
Anna Coding

Free web, mobile, DevOps, cloud tutorials, issues & solutions. www.annacoding.com