About Me

Anna-purna Srivastava
Anna-purna Srivastava
3 min readJan 4, 2023

Hi I'm Anna, and I'm on a journey.

After spending the last 5 years working in Architecture I loved the potential of every client, brief and location, however one thing that really tickled my brain was constraints. I loved the way that a project becomes a problem to solve, my arsenal became my knowledge of codes, materiality and construction methods to come to a solution.

An amazing architectural/photography experience I had up on top of the MLC tower in Sydney.

However with all this solutioning, I felt that sometimes the user’s needs got lost in the process as architectural design itself is so subjective. I craved the insight that research and validation provides within design.

This is where I found my appreciation for the world of UX, the foundation of all design comes from the user up. Research drives every decision and allows me to be a part of creating something that is iterative, learning and reflecting our changing world.

Image Credits: Interaction Design Foundation

In my time as an architect, I have gained a deep appreciation for the impact of design on the functionality and user experience of a space. This has sparked my interest in exploring the field of UX design, where I can focus specifically on creating intuitive and enjoyable digital experiences for users. My background in architecture has given me a strong foundation in design principles and project management, and I am excited to apply these skills to the realm of UX design.

To get me up to speed with the skills and knowledge required to move into the digital design space I have undertaken a UX Flex Immersive course with General Assembly Australia. Through a hands on approach, GA has taught me to apply essential UX methods like wireframing, prototyping, user research and usability testing to solve contemporary problems.

What about me as a person?

I am an ENFJ personality type with a warm, outgoing, and conscientious nature. I am a natural leader and enjoy helping others reach their full potential. My love for film photography and cooking showcases my creative and artistic side, as well as my appreciation for the sensory experiences in life. I am always willing to give something a shot, which speaks to my adventurous personality and gives me a newfound appreciation for everything from surfing to homemade croissant's.

I love learning; from people and from my environments. Our world is ever changing and learning to adapt and improve is the only way to move forward. This new step of my journey excites me and reminds me that I have so much to learn from the experience and sentiments of others, and how important those experiences are to our futures.

L to R: Preparing for a site visit, Cammeray Sailing Club, Visitors at Newcastle Ocean Baths
Angus Cattle on a friends farm, captured on Illford HP5

--

--