Arrest Made in Connection to University of Chicago Threats

Emma Delaporte
1 min readDec 1, 2015

--

A student at the University of Illinois at Chicago has been arrested after threats were made against the University of Chicago, prompting classes to be canceled on Monday. A threat was made online to kill 16 white males at the school in revenge for the 16 shots fired by Chicago police at Laquan McDonald, a 17 year old, according to FBI officials. According to Heavy, Dean made the threats on the comments of a video on worldstarhiphop.com. University of Illinois has confirmed that Dean is a Freshman electrical engineering student. Dean has been charged with transmitting a threat in interstate commerce according to the U.S. Attorney’s office.

The Chicago tribune published Dean’s threat, originally posted in the comments of a video clip of the movie Panther, a 1995 film about the Black Panther Movement:

This is my only warning. At 10AM Monday morning, I’m going to the campus quad of the University of Chicago. I will be armed with an M-4 carbine and two desert eagles, all fully loaded. I will execute approximately 16 white male students and or staff, which is the same number of time McDonald was killed.

I will then die killing any number of white policeman in the process. This is not a joke. I am to do my part and rid the world of white devils. I expect you do the same.

The Chicago Tribune reported that the treats were not found credible by the FBI. A student from the university describes her account of the incident:

--

--