USC attracts not just local but international students

Katherine Ortega
Annenberg Youth Academy 2019
2 min readJul 29, 2019

By: Katherine Ortega

With USC ranking in the top 25 universities in the U.S., many local and international students are persuaded to apply.

USC student Xi Liu works on an assignment at the Village. (Annenberg Media/ Katherine Ortega)

Being a student from China, choosing USC was the right choice for Xi Liu because of its high ranks. He is one of the almost 6,000 international students from China, according to the USC website.

“I don’t think it’s the school itself, but the people here, like the friends I met. They influence me and help me and I think that is how USC made a difference in my life,” Liu said. Although being far away from home may affect many people, it has only made him “more independent.”

USC is home to more than 11,000 international students. They are ranked second out of 1,240 in the overall best U.S. colleges and universities for international students, according to college factual.

Lauren Lopez, a local student from Valencia, California, is majoring in English and is a rising senior at USC. She also has the advantage of being in a program that is ranked as the second best university in California. She chose USC because of its diversity and opportunities.

Lauren Lopez outside of Wallis Annenberg Hall. (Annenberg Media/ Katherine Ortega)

“I chose USC because I really wanted a school where I could be involved and be able to meet all kinds of different people and I feel like USC definitely has those qualities,” Lopez said.

--

--