Why Did My Dryer Smell Bad?

If Your dryer stinks, I hope it isn’t for this reason

Anne Emerick
Anne’s Adventures In Home Improvement

--

Photo by Sarah Chai from Pexels

When I washed clothes at the house in Rochester, they didn’t smell clean. The house had a front-loaded washing machine and a dryer that looked nice but had mediocre results.

Since we had large gaps of time when we were away, and no one was using the washer and dryer, I thought perhaps it was a mildew odor. My other theory was that front-loading washing machines are poor at removing dog hair. Something about they don’t have enough water to carry it away. With two Labradors, I wondered if leftover dog hair could be leaving both washer and dryer kind of stinky.

I tried running an empty hot load in the washer with bleach. I tried wiping out the dryer with disinfecting wipes. I tried another towel load with bleach and put extra dryer sheets in the dryer.

It didn’t help.

My ‘Clean’ Clothes Did NOT Smell Clean

So I Googled, “Why does my dryer stink?”

Connor’s Appliance had this helpful information:

“Are you wondering, “Why does my dryer smell bad?” That odor emanating from your dryer is usually due to lint that has accumulated in the lint trap. Dirty lint can smell absolutely horrible. But, once you remove it…

--

--

Anne Emerick
Anne’s Adventures In Home Improvement

Programmer by day. Author by night. As I put on running tights, I imagine I’m a superhero. Creator of Unemploymentville.com and No-Work Spanish.